Ventrilokissed Album Cover

Peppermoth – Ventrilokissed



  1. Sun Dreamer
  2. If You Lean Closer
  3. My Lasting Breath
  4. Ventrilokissed
  5. Light On Mars
  6. Welcome Home
  7. Mezmeriser
  8. A River Rising


Release Date: June 18, 2021

Another pandemic recording? Possibly…but ambient artist Peppermoth (Canadian producer Andrew McPherson) already creates musical worlds that could resemble a lockdown or isolation. The 4th release from Peppermoth, Ventrilokissed offers another nuanced and bejewelled sonic gem built on a signature, less-is-more approach to instrumental music. McPherson weaves patient, melodic stories together to create an audio tapestry where dub, neo-classical, minimalism, jazz and of course, ambient influences gather. The album unfolds like a ballet score with dancers and actors performing in the mind’s eye, far away from a physical stage – and with our shared global experience of isolation in the background, the ‘ventrilokiss’ becomes a compelling metaphor for the album’s desire to connect us to what we are separate from. Could someone feel ‘ventrilokissed’ from afar? 
New to Peppermoth’s sonic palette is pedal steel guitar player Matt Monoogian (Odd Years). In McPherson’s hands Matt’s pedal steel is treated like musical astral projection with soaring, elastic melodies and chord clusters (‘If you lean closer’, ‘My lasting breath’) evoking the groundbreaking work of Canadian producer and steel player, Daniel Lanois. Joining Monoogian are Peppermoth core members Gary Diggins playing brass and Jeff Bird on double bass/mandolin (Cowboy Junkies), who bring a plethora of tone, colour and melody to the record. Diggins’ choral brass shines in the neo-classical ‘Sun Dreamer’ and the Gershwin-tinged ‘Welcome Home’, while Bird’s minimalist bass work evokes Debussy on ‘Light on Mars’ and Mingus on ‘Welcome home’. Also making his debut with Peppermoth is Irish bassist Bernard O’neill (Dub Colossus, Syriana), a world class performer and session musician who’s rhythmic part on ‘Mezmerised’ cooks up a hazy mix of 4 a.m.jazz and spacey ambience. McPherson rounds out the canvas on a plethora of instruments (guitar, bass, flute, omnichord, keys) editing and building treatments over improvised performances, then mixing through his classic MCI analog console and vintage tape delays.
Andrew’s countless productions include Vieux Farka Touré, Jane Siberry, Desert Dwellers, EarthRise SoundSystem, Pan Electric, Delhi2Dublin, Transglobal Underground, Dub Colossus, Dubmatix, Stephen Fearing and Eccodek, Andrew’s twice Juno-nominated (Canada’s Grammy’s) global dub fusion project on Real World, Six Degrees Records, White Swan/Black Swan, Buddha Bar and Modiba.


Share This